Pentir Community Council

A meeting of the Full Council will be held on Thursday Evening 16th July 2020 at 7pm.

Annual Meeting

Agenda

Prayer and welcome

Code of Conduct

Apologies

To receive the Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on May 23rd 2019

To receive the Balance Sheet for the year 2019/2020

Chairman's Report

Confirm/Elect Officers:

Chair

Vice Chair

Elect Representatives to the Sub-committee

To be followed directly by a meeting of the Council.

PENTIR COMMUNITY COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON 23/05/2019 in St Peter's Church Penrhosgarnedd

Present:

Councillor Cynrig E. Hughes (Chair)

Cllr Dewi Jones, James Griffiths, Lowri James, Tudur Anwyl, Huw Griffiths and Menna Baines

Elwyn Jones (Clerk)

Apologies:

Cllr Dafydd Jones Morris, Jean Pierce, Bernard Jones, and Modlen Lynch

Prayer offered by the Chair, Councillor C.E. Hughes

In his opening remarks he apologised that the Annual Meeting had gone further than anticipated into May as members would not be available on the 9th and Glasinfryn centre would not be available tonight due to the European Elections

Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on 10th May 2018 and matters arising.

Receipt of Minutes

Upon the proposal of Councillor J Griffiths and seconded by Councillor M Baines, the minutes were received as an accurate record.

2. Financial Report and Accounts 2018-19

Accounts for the year 2018-19 were received, along with the financial report.

Everything was now ready to be submitted to the internal auditors (Gwynedd Council) so that we can, if possible, receive their report and approve it at the June meeting and forward it to BDO.

3. Chairman's Report

He thanked everyone for their contribution over the year and expressed particular thanks to the Finance Sub-Committee for ensuring that the Council was always financially secure. He thanked the Clerk for his tireless work on behalf of the councillors and for being available to discuss and respond to any issues arising on an occasional basis.

During the year Cllr M Lynch was welcomed into our midst, but by the end of the year Cllr R T Jones had left the Council.

The black cloud of more Pylons in the area had disappeared due to the suspension of the construction work on Wylfa Newydd

The Council's Work

Unfortunately, the Assets Sub-Committee had been abolished – due to a lack of attendance – but had a role in identifying projects and pricing them before submitting them to the Finance Sub-Committee. However, projects were taking place and/or had to take place

- 1. Cemetery Paths
- 2. Cemetery wall/gate pillar
- 3. Salt Bins responsibility cascaded down to us from Gwynedd Council
- 4. To identify venues for the purchase and installation of Defib machines around the Council's area
- 5. To be part of the Ysgol Y Faenol/ Penrhos Community Centre project.

The Future

To operate carefully in order to do our best for the Community

- 1. To ensure that discussions take place with Gwynedd Council to realise the Community Council's wishes
- 2. To liaise with Canolfan Penrhos Committee on management and financial matters regarding the Ysgol Y Faenol Project and to co-operate with the Chair of the Centre

- 3. To develop a procedure to enable the Council to monitor and support the Committees of both Community Centres seeking to ensure elements of uniformity
- 4. To reach a decision regarding the need or otherwise to have another Sub-Committee
- 5. To ensure that all sections of the community see the value of the work of Pentir Community Council

4. Election of Officers

4.1 - Election of Chair

In light of the fact that the Vice-Chairman of the Council had left us Cllr D W Jones proposed that the Chair be asked kindly to consider remaining in the chair for an additional year.

The proposal was seconded by Cllr J Griffiths.

There was no other proposal and ClIr C E Hughes agreed to continue in post for another year

4.2 – Election of Vice-chair

As the majority present had already spent a term in the chair it was agreed to defer the election of Vice Chair until the beginning of the June meeting.

4.3 – Membership of Sub-committees

It was agreed that membership of the Finance Sub-committee should remain as it was, namely Councillor Lowri James (Chair) Councillor Dewi W Jones, Councillor Dafydd Jones-Morris Councillor Jean Pierce and Councillor Bernard Jones.

The Chair would attend the Sub-committee

The Annual Meeting concluded at 7.30
